Gondrin!

You remember that thing I posted about painter’s block, about, um, 5 years ago????

I’ve finally finished Gondrin:

IMG_4328.jpg

I had finished four figures on the command stand – the standard bearers and drummers, and the rest of the figures were sitting primed on painting bottles on my desk.  For 5 years.  Wow.  I’ve recently taken to finishing up long-started, long-unfinished projects on my desk.  This was one of them.

IMG_4329.jpg

It’s funny how you get away from something and forget how much you enjoy it.  I’ve come back to two long forgotten things recently – painting Front Rank WSS figures and painting Calpe Napoleonics.  You can read about the latter shortly on my painting distractions blog.  These are such a joy to paint.

IMG_4330.jpg

Interestingly, this is the one period where I don’t have tons of unpainted lead.  I have the rest of the Danish foot for Ramillies, and a few cavalry and that’s it.  I pulled out a unit of Danish cav that I have started and will finish those soon.  Now all I have to do is get these lads out for a game.

Here is both battalions of Gondrin.

IMG_4331.jpg

4 thoughts on “Gondrin!

  1. Great to see that you are again active! The figures, flags and painting are just fantastic. I like seeing the French uniform on the lighter side of gray or off white.

Leave a comment